[WEEKLY READINGS] Books I Read on the Third Week of August (8/16-8/22)

Hello, lovelies! 🌼 I can’t believe we are almost done with August!! Since I started doing this weekly recap I feel days are just passing by in a blink of an eye. I’m back with another reading week and let me just say it was SPECTACULAR!

Books I finished (ノ◕ヮ◕)ノ*:・゚✧

Dare You (Dare to Try #1) by Ella Frank: Oh, this book was so good! I love a good slow burn (ಥ﹏ಥ) and this one was great. Sebastian AKA Bash is an amazing character – funny, smart, friendly, open, and proud. Bash is also very unapologetic and loves who he, doesn’t care what other people say or think about him. He has an amazing circle of friends and is a businessman. I loved Bash, while he is very proud and sure of himself, he is also vulnerable and I was about to fight anyone who hurt him! When he meets Kieran sparks fly! Kieran is a firefighter, smart and hardworking, and a bit of a womanizer. He is straight and very VERY popular with women. Kieran and Bash’s relationship starts as a tentative friendship that evolves into physical and emotional feelings. Their friendship is fun and every interaction tells a bit more of themselves to each other and I was living for every time they would just talk and spend time together as friends. Bash is honest and doesn’t push but he also doesn’t say no when the opportunity arises. I loved Kieran’s brothers and Bash’s friends and how they all play a role of support and guidance. This book ended on a cliffhanger which I’m never a fan of but I can’t wait to read book two!

Imposing Saint (All Saints Security Series #3) by Jess Bryant: Another great read! I really enjoyed this book so much. The characters were phenomenal and imperfect which I also enjoyed seeing. I have a full review on Goodreads about the book – I think it would have been a perfect five stars but I just couldn’t connect completely with one of the characters Aaron – his selfishness and cowardice while they were relatable to real-life due to his position and upbringing it also irritated me because he was aware of what he was doing so I couldn’t really swallow the actions he took knowing what he was doing would mentally and emotionally affect Isaac ಠ╭╮ಠ

Just a Bit Bossy (Straight Guys #12) by Alessandra Hazard: This author NEVER disappoints me. I have been waiting for this release for months and wow, I’m so sad I read it so fast! This is an amazing enemy to lovers – or should I say a PA hating his boss for being literally ‘Satan’ 😀 I loved this book from start to finish. Nate was so cute, so honest, and unapologetic so unlike Raffaele who was always serious, a bit of a sex maniac, Satan in a man’s body. This man makes other people cry by just looking at them, his PAs were either fired or ran away in tears until Nate arrives. Nate is a tough cookie, he doesn’t stand bullshit, he doesn’t allow Raffaele to get away with his shitty behavior and most of all, the sexual tension is off the roof – for two straight men of course /roll eyes. I loved the banter, the hate/hate/let me kiss you routine, and the romance. Nate is the cutest shit when he’s drunk and his love confession was endearing. By the time I’m writing this I have read this book four times. Yes, that’s how good it was.

The Dating Experiment (Better With You #2) by Brian Prescott: I read the first book back in April and it was an okay book. I had a lot of mixed feelings so I was a bit skeptical about reading book two. Something that pushed me to read this book was Jamie one of the main characters and someone who I loved reading from during the first story. This book made me so happy, so giddy and giggly like a child. I loved every single thing about this book, from the characters to the plot. There is a lot of dialogue in this book and I was all for it. Jamie is chaos, he’s all over the place and is extremely funny. He is stubborn, smart, a loudmouth who is not afraid to say whatever is on his mind – which most of the time gets him in trouble. He is a spazz in every aspect of his life, but I loved Jamie and everything about him! Then we have Connor who has a stick literally up to his … you get the point. He’s so serious, never smiles, workaholic. But, then we learned he’s just an awkward man who doesn’t know how to socialize and most of the time says the wrong thing when he’s trying to be nice. Connor and Jamie were hilarious together, the romance was amazing, and the relationship was so good such a slow burn. Also, let’s say that Jamie’s best friends were also everything ❤

Currently reading (◕‿◕✿)

Just a Bit Ruthless (Straight Guys #6) by Alessandra Hazard: This is a re-read. I have read this book a thousand time – to the point I know everything by heart. One of my favorite books to re-read when I have nothing new I want to read. This is a guilty pleasure of mine, I don’t always enjoy the type of relationship showcased in this book but the author does such a fantastic job that it works!

Chasing Fire by Nora Roberts: I have just read the first 12 pages but so far its good. I have never read a book with a ‘fire jumper’. The beginning was a bit dark and sad but I think this book will be very interesting!

Not So Nice by Emma Lyon: This is an eARC and I’m still in chapter one – lately I’ve been into the PA/Boss theme so I hope this one doesn’t disappoint! I read a review and got a bit spoiled – and not in the good way – so I’m crossing my fingers!

Still reading from last week (ಥ﹏ಥ)

  • Six Crimson Cranes by Elizabeth Lim
  • Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor
  • Jewels of the Sun (Gallaghers of Ardmore #1) by Nora Roberts

What I read on week 1: [WEEKLY READINGS] BOOKS I READ ON THE FIRST WEEK OF AUGUST (8/1-8/8)
What I read on week 2: [WEEKLY READINGS] BOOKS I READ ON THE SECOND WEEK OF AUGUST (8/9-8/15)



Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.